musicinverness is the operating name of Inverness Chamber Music Society, established in September 1995 by a group of musical friends who had the, so far unfulfilled, ambition to play Schubert's "Trout" Quintet at any standard, let alone a high one!

It soon became apparent that promoting chamber music concerts by visiting professional musicians was a more realistic idea and the Society was formed and registered as a Scottish Charity with the number SC024288.  Our first concert was held in Charleston Academy and given by the then Quartet in Residence at the University of Aberdeen, the Ygdrassil String Quartet.  This Quartet were winners of both the London International String Quartet Competition and the Melbourne International Chamber Music Competition.  After studying at the Royal Conservatoire of Sweden in Stockholm they became protegés of both the renowned composer György Kurtág and the leader of the Amadeus Quartet, Norbert Brainin.  By starting this venture with a concert of such a high international standard the Society sent a clear message that only the very finest musicians would be invited to perform for the Inverness audience.





Artists that have visited Inverness to perform for the Society include pianists Stephen Kovacevitch, Alastair Beatson, Steven Osborne and Oxana Shevchenko; piano trios include the Kungsbacka, the Zadig and the Kapten; string quartets include the Belcea, the Carducci, the Sacconi, the Barbirolli, the Cavallieri, the Piatti and the Sophos amongst many others. 


The Society has also received the regular support of the Tunnell Trust for Young Musicians, a musical trust established in memory of the late John Tunnell, founder-leader of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra and his wife, Wendy, that auditions and mentors ensembles of young professionals, and then awards them with tours of Scottish music clubs.

Although Inverness Chamber Music Society remains the legal title, since 2017 the operating name has been musicinverness to emphasise that we are a universal organisation that welcomes everyone to our concerts and we have opened our doors to everyone who wishes to become a member, rather than just a patron.  musicinverness is managed by an Executive Committee that is elected at the Annual General Meeting, held each year before the September concert. 


The Membership Year and the Financial Year run from 1st July to 30th June.

The Executive Committee of musicinverness for the current year was elected at the Annual General Meeting held on Tuesday 24th September 2019 in Inverness Town House before the concert given by the Solem String Quartet.  Members elected were:-

Gordon Adam  -  Chairman

Andrew Stevenson  -  Vice-Chairman

James Munro  -  Administrator

Alison Marr  -  Committee Member

Ian Sharp  -   Committee Member

For all matters concerning musicinverness, please contact James Munro, Administrator musicinverness, Balnabruaich, 89 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4HH  email : jamesdmunro@btinternet.com  phone : 01463 710363 or 07871 770652

Inverness Town House.png

After using Charleston Academy the concert series moved to the Station Hotel (now the Royal Highland) in the centre of Inverness.  Two of the original group had to leave Inverness for work reasons and after new blood joined the committee, with Niall Ramsay as Chairman and Paul Crowe as Secretary, the Society moved into the elegant venue of the Main Hall within Inverness Town House in 2002.  This has been the Society's home venue ever since, except during the period of building restoration, when we enjoyed the hospitality of Smithton-Culloden Free Church.